« MOUNTAIN RESCUE | Main | GARDEN INVADERS »

05/18/2007

Comments

TomLR

It is one of my ambitions to have a hurley. I have wanted one for about 3 years. An unreputable contact of mine has one (along with all his fingers) and I just love the weight and feel of it. Like a beautiful piece of typography, I imagine. His is primitive (he's from Cork as well) - but he's also a carpenter and I keep asking him to make one for me so I can put it in my shed along with all the other satisfyingly weighted things I have bought for my museum.

Harry C

Hello Tom - you are absolutely right. A good hurley is a work of art. It's got to have the right feel and balance.They are made from finest mountain ash and the grain should run continuously from the handle down to and through to the 'boss'(the wide bit where the ball is struck) I remember a guy called Willie Sloane who made hurleys in Youghal (my home town) and he was quite an expert. But just when you found the stick of your dreams
it would be shattered in a clash for the ball with the opposition and you start all over again.

Colman

I like the idea of constantly being on the look out for the perfect hurley, but at the same time knowing that should you find it, that there's a good chance it'll be broken doing what it was made to do.

Bicycle Trailers

I had been searching on yahoo for sites regarding fitness and cycling when this posting showed up in the final results. While not really what I was looking for it was really worth the a study and for that I could give it four stars.

Coach Canada

I agree with your point, please share with us more good articles.

Buy domain

Really good job and now i am going to bookmark this site. So please keep posting this type of articles.

The comments to this entry are closed.