« SURPRISE , SURPRISE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! | Main | Precious Old Thing.......... »

04/27/2007

Comments

Colman

Great stuff Dad, I knew you were going to be good at this blogging lark. Very interesting, I too like a bit of the radio, though I rarely find time these days.

russell

I'm a big Tony Hancock fan. And of The Goons. Arthur (who's 6) is starting to like The Goons too, on CD. So maybe they'll transcend the generations.

Harry C

Russell - I can understand Arthur liking the Goons - it was ground-breaking and inoffensive and appealed across the whole age spectrum. My eldest brother Jim who is 74 still giggles like a schoolboy as he recounts some of the sketches.
My favourite was 'Round the Horne' with Kenneth Horne,a young Kenneth Williams, Hugh Paddick and Betty Marsden. Even after all these years whenever I hear a repeat, it's so funny.However the content could be a bit risque for Arthur just now.

Ben

Another good post Harry.

I find an evening spent listening to the radio so much more relaxing than watching the TV.

Although I really need to break away from the tyranny of Radio Five.

dan at innocent

I am glad that someone else shares the dirty Five with me. Doing the washing up whilst listening to the soothing strains of Pougatch really rounds the day off nicely for me http://www.bbc.co.uk/fivelive/presenters/pougatch_biog.shtml. The wife prefers Radio 4 but I think she's just showing off. And she is highly critical of Five Live (or Sport Radio as she likes to refer to it. Cuts me to the quick.)

Thank you Harry, for allowing us all to wallow in radio.

Charles Edward Frith

Hello Harry. Nice post. Growing up in Germany with the Armed Forces, radio was the only English language entertainment and news we had so I've always been a radio fan, and lucky to appreciate it too. When I was out in the Far East before the Internet, the radio was a lifeline to keep up with world events on shortwave, and to this day I'm a big World Service fan but broadcast over the Internet. Yes, it's a very special medium. Particularly enjoyed that post and the arrival of radio in your household.

TomLR

I listen to TalkSport in the morning, and read Coleridge in the afternoon.

TomLR

I can see an amusing conjunction coming here....Townsend would be great at Kubla Khan..I have my thinking cap on. If you get them to say something on the radio, can you get a recording of it ?

beeker

looks like i'm going to love reading this blog too. first visit, and very enjoyable it is.

dan at innocent

Tom - I can get recordings of anything said on air at TalkSport because my sister's boyfriend Travis (the Australian) works there. He also plays five a side with Townsend, Alan Brazil and the lads.

TomLR

Does he work down near the Southbank ? Do they play nougat on the pitch directly opposite ? Is Kendo involved ?

The comments to this entry are closed.